10 Comments
Sep 3, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Those early morning "think alongs" can be killers, or they can be interesting enough for a great piece of writing. I do remember the name, Marjorie Norton, for she was the guidance counselor who told me to just stay home and farm with my dad, that I was certainly not college material. I earned the degree, then embarked on a nearly 50 year journalism career with credits in nearly 100 magazines and stints at three daily newspapers, a great publishing house, an ad agency and finally a country weekly, which was way too much fun. I'm also pleased to be one of the few Big Stone County residents to have won AAEA plaques along with NAMA and Pictures of the Year recognitions, along with too many state newspaper awards in Iowa, Colorado and Minnesota to remember. Oh, and Marjorie, I was also the first "ag" writer to win two Oscars in Agriculture. So there!

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

I hope the instructor understood that raising pigs successfully, also requires a certain business acumen. Otherwise, she was being derisive on two levels. I am sure she became aware of your success as you flourished as a writer. That would of course require that she remember her students by name and possess a modicum of empathy. Keep the pen in motion!

Expand full comment
Sep 3, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Wonderful messages, Brent. I think of Wally as well but for a totally different reason. I have my dad’s cribbage board that was made by Wally. I think of him whenever I play. He was such a kind man and Edith a wonderful woman.

Expand full comment
Sep 3, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

And this is precisely why we teachers, from early childhood to college, need to check our thinking, our judgements, and beliefs at the door and remember that a remark, positive or negative, can stay with a human for a very long time.

Expand full comment
Sep 3, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

The above made me think of another piece you wrote about a stone barn near where you live and the man you know who helped pour the floor. As for the pigs, you were always a writer, but at the time, you made your money as a pig farmer. You just had to say to yourself and the world you were a writer, and that took time and effort to develop. I always enjoy reading what you write.

Expand full comment
Sep 3, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

She overstepped her position for sure, but we never know what might be the motivator ?

Expand full comment

Beautiful....and from the little I know of you from your writing, I doubt any 'rebuke' the instructor might receive from you would be in any way as hurtful as her words to you.

Expand full comment
Sep 3, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Thank you Brent. Once again your writing touched me. Now I live in Madison Wisconsin and I’m reading “Crossing to Safety” for the second time. It is so much fun to read it now that I live in Madison, having moved from Luverne ,Minnesota ten years ago. I grew up on a farm in southeastern Minnesota. I was the the sole daughter, having three brothers. I wasn’t involved in the hard work of the farm but instead practice my piano and saxophone and relished learning in my small high school and then enrolling at Luther College.

What a treat is mine, reading Wallace Stegner and Brent Olson on this cloudy morning. Life is good when I am able to put Afghanistan forest fires, hurricane Ida out of mind for an hour or two. I am grateful.

Expand full comment
Sep 3, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

I really enjoy your writing and your perspectives on life from a country boys life on a farm. I grew up in the country and enjoyed reading your books and articles over the years.

This article reminds me of how I wanted to take shop classes in high school and my mom said it was not a something you will ever take and learn to use your mind. So I tried the University for 2 years and found a job helping build a church in Cannon Falls as an apprentice carpenter. 50 years later, I still enjoy building and creating things as a carpenter and enjoyed my career path as a skilled craftsmen. Just like learned my skills as a carpenter by practicing them, you mastered your writing skills by practicing and honing them over the years.

I am glad that my son and his wife gave me your books many years ago.

Expand full comment
Sep 3, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Thanks again for such good writing, it is good this has turned out better than the pigs!

Expand full comment