9 Comments
Jul 30, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

My small farm "renters" ... Lisa and Jay Thorson ... were on the front lines. Jay as a firefighter, and Lisa on the volunteer ambulance squad, and they were both on the "job" for 24 plus hours protecting the rest of Clinton from possible tragedy. What Brent didn't mention was the temperature, which was in the mid to high 90s, and those firefighters were wearing turnouts that are basically unbreathable. It was amazing that no one was overcome by a heat stroke in the midst of this horrendous fire. Great writing, Brent.

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Very well said, Brent.. Thank you for reminder of what happens when the best of us comes together.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Beautifully written. When I first heard of the fire, I immediately remembered the elevator explosion of Bungee (Savage, Mn) many years ago.. They weren't so lucky, there were deaths. I prayed for our local firefighters and the community and someone heard my prayers. It was a bad thing but it could have been much much worse.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Thank you, Brent for your well written message. Clinton & the Clinton area is a good place to live. My Mom & Dad moved to a farm 6 miles East of Clinton in 1934 & that farm was in the Family until 2016! So proud of the work of all those people in such heat! Thanks to every person that helped in any way that day!

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Thank you for your words. Sorry for your loss. Sending thoughts and prayers. We need lots of encouragement and support today and every day!

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Well done, the writing and the firefighting! As I watched this unfold on Sunday, my memories of my "Clinton Years" managing that fertilizer plant came tumbling back. A good town, Clinton is!

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Brent, your writing always elevates my mood, but never more than this column. Sometimes bad things just bring out the best in people, be they firefighters or writers. My thanks to both.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Oh, and I think the White House might like to sew this. 💜

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Thank you for warming my heart this morning, Brent. This is who we are -the working together for years, and the pulling together in times of need. Thank you for recording and broadcasting this ray of humanity and hope.

Expand full comment