3 Comments
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

In my business we call it Institutional Memory and losing it costs millions of dollars over the years. We had a prolific cat burglar who was brazen while entering occupied homes at night. A task force was assigned, suspects surveilled but months went by. Long story short is I got a tip that reminded me of a 15 year old case involving a burglar that used the same exact methods. Two weeks later he was arrested and charged with all the burglaries that were uniquely his. He be out to burgle again, hopefully someone will remember.

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

Yesterday I delivered a eulogy for my late sister-in-law, the wife of my husband’s brother. I told anecdotes, some of which had been given to me by family members, some of my own. And we realized we all had slightly different memories of her, all of them true, all of them reflecting slightly different dimensions. Our memories, collectively, still didn’t paint a full picture of her, but hearing them brought other memories to mind, and I could remember her better for that. She’s been sick a long time, so it was good to remember her before, when she was able to live her fullest life. I’m grateful for that sharing of memories.

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Brent Olson

On our first day of Journalism 101, about half way through the professors introductory "sermon" on the legacy of our future craft, three thugs burst through the door and mugged him right in front of our eyes. After they just as quickly rushed from the room, he stood, dusted himself off and told us to each write a report of what we had just witnessed. Of the 30 or so of us in the room, no two stories of the surprise event matched. We all saw something a little different. Plus, we each thought we had written a completely accurate description of the mugging. Your story reminded me of that moment, then took it deeper. You've written a fine lesson. Thank you.

Expand full comment