2 Comments

"Old" - loved this one ! That comment " only as old as you feel " does that refer to your mind or your body? I get different readings there. I'm a bit older than you, but have been through the construction, baling ( there are so many of our favorite horses buried on our farm ), meetings- it was all great. And I agree with your idea that I hope to have a "to do (maybe) list" right up to the end. Keep up the essays- I love them. We've followed many of the same paths. Only I don't expect any sympathy from you for our -7 degrees temperatures today because yours are probably way worse. Merry Christmas !

Expand full comment

The old time hay balers were an instrument of torture! Piling bales on the rack beyond human capabilities have caused untold aches and pains later in life. I wonder how many folks had training in proper lifting procedures? Wasn’t a popular topic in Douglas County, MN, so my guess would be zero. Anyway, it is part of years bygone. Enough gloom!

Merry Christmas to everyone and hopefully we can actually listen to each other in 2023! It’s up to us!!

Expand full comment