3 Comments

Now I've got to head into Bonnies Hometown Grocery just to ask her a simple question: "Hey, Bonnie! What's a Smartie?" Once again, nice work. When I was a child I can't think of anything being chucked into the streets for us. Then I moved to the prairie and went to cover my first parade at Maynard's Fourth of July parade, and immediately though just like your dear wife ... and quickly learned that thrown candy was a "new" tradition for parades, and that children once past the toddler stage have amazing dexterity along with an innate sense of survival!

Expand full comment

"those taffy type things that people throw when they want to look generous without spending much money" -- great line and exactly what I think about them!

Expand full comment

Thanks for giving me a "day brightener".

Expand full comment