2 Comments

Gotta give Frances credit for just pacing and not puking the whole load in the house ! :) As a long time animal lover with many assorted dogs, cats, horses, occasional cows, and I feed the birds, I can understand your problems. Now I'm just down to two hyper, overboard enthusiastic Goldendoodles, the assorted feral cats residing in some unused sheds, and the bird feeders. Big problem now is voles, moles, etc. tunneling under the birdseed area and Doodles constantly excavating for them- then coyotes sneaking in to catch the burrowing critters, and Doodles howling at night from their cozy, beds in the house because they know the coyotes are out and about. I have always maintained that the more animal species one has the more complicated their care is.

Expand full comment

Frances makes sure she's the "alpha" animal of Rancho Olson, and rarely hesitates to let visitors realize her stately position. As a human, though, I would much prefer to see the results of a bird food raid over that of what you might feed the walruses! That's just me, though.

Expand full comment